Accused of a Crime? Are You Worried How it Will Affect
Sandy Springs is located in Fulton County, Georgia. Atlanta lies south of it, and Roswell is to the north. The city has a population of over 90,000 residents. The downtown part of Sandy Springs is organized around the site that gave the city its name, and there are 12 parks and green space areas around the city. The Municipal Court, located in City Hall, hears many different types of criminal cases, including aggressive driving, hit and runs, vehicular homicide, drug offenses, speeding, and possession of concealed weapons. If you are cited for a traffic offense or charged with a crime in Sandy Springs, you should contact the skilled criminal defense attorney Thomas C. Nagel. We will take the time to understand the details of your situation and discuss your options with you.Hit and Run and Other Traffic Violations in Georgia
Hit and run is a crime in Georgia that carries harsher penalties than a first-time DUI. Under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-270, if you are involved in an accident where there is damage to a vehicle or harm to a person, you are required to stop at the scene or as close as possible, and return to the scene of the collision. You are required to give the other driver or injured person your name, address, registration number, and, if asked, your driver's license number. You must also help anyone who is hurt in the crash, such as by contacting an ambulance.
If you fail to stop and help an injured person, the law considers the accident a hit and run. The police can take out a warrant for your arrest. There may be a number of reasons you left, including fear that you would be caught drunk driving or panic at having hit a car or having hurt someone. However, you should be aware that a hit and run conviction can result in a $1,000 fine, 12 months in jail, or both, in addition to a suspension of your driver's license or privilege to drive in Georgia. Your car insurance premiums may go up. A conviction may affect your ability to get another job.
In addition to a hit and run charge, you may be facing DUI or first-degree vehicular homicide charges. There are two degrees of vehicular homicide. In Georgia, a hit and run driver who causes a death or a drunk driver who causes a death can be charged with first-degree vehicular homicide. This is a felony that carries a penalty of up to 15 years in prison. First-degree vehicular homicide also may be charged when an individual drives recklessly, unlawfully overtakes a school bus, fails to stop for a law enforcement officer, or has previously been declared a habitual offender.
A driver who commits a traffic infraction, such as failing to yield or speeding, without intent to kill and inadvertently causes a death may be convicted of second-degree vehicular homicide, which is a misdemeanor. Even if you think what you have been accused of is minor, a conviction can have an effect on future citations or criminal charges. Therefore, it is critical to retain an attorney as soon as you are aware of the accusation.Enlist a Sandy Springs Attorney to Help Protect Your Rights
Criminal charges in Georgia can have serious long-term social and legal consequences, but you should remember that there are strong protections for criminal defendants. The prosecution must prove every element of its case beyond a reasonable doubt, and often it is possible to negotiate a reduction in charges or even a dismissal if vital evidence or testimony can be excluded from the case. However, you will need a knowledgeable attorney to make these arguments. If you have been charged with a crime near Sandy Springs or the surrounding communities, you should consult DUI lawyer Thomas C. Nagel. Call 404-255-1600 or contact Thomas C. Nagel, Attorney at Law through our online form.