Accused of a Crime? Are You Worried How it Will Affect
If you have a child that has beencharged with Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP) in the State ofGeorgia, you need to contact an experienced Atlanta criminal defense attorney immediately. Many people think that a minor is simply written a ticket for a violation of Minor in Possession. It's more common today that minors will be arrested and booked into jail. An arrest record at this stage in life will have long lasting effects.
Thomas C. Nagel has been representing minors for over 25 years in the Metro Atlanta courts including Cobb, Dekalb, Gwinnett and Fulton Counties and all cities in each of those counties. Getting our criminal defense law firm involved in your case early will increase our ability to get the best possible result.
A violation of Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP) in the State of Georgia can result in harsh penalties. A minor possessing alcohol can be punished by up to 6 months in jail and a $300.00 fine or both. Adults furnishing alcohol to, or purchasing alcohol for minors is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a $1,000.00 fine and 1 year in jail or both.
If a minor in the State of Georgia is convicted of attempting to purchase alcohol, The State of Georgia Department of Driver's Services (Georgia DDS) will suspend the minor's drivers license for a minimum of 6 months and as much as 12 months upon subsequent convictions.
Sentences for this offense vary widely depending on the location of the court that is handling your case. If your child is under the age of seventeen (17) their case will be heard in juvenile justice system. I will advise you of all the options available in your case. In most cases, depending on your prior criminal history, I can petition the court to dismiss your charges and negotiate an expungement effectively wiping your arrest record clean.
Interestingly, possession of alcohol by a minor is allowed in certain cases. Possession of alcohol in the State of Georgia by minors is expressly allowed when the alcohol is provided by a parent or guardian in the home of the parent or guardian, and the parent or guardian is physically present in the home.
Minors are also allowed to possess and serve alcohol in the course of employment at an establishment that is licensed to produce or serve alcohol.
Stop worrying and get answers to your questions . If you are interested in a private and confidential consultation, call me now to discuss your case. Attorney's fees are competitive, major credit cards are accepted, and payment plans are available.
Regardless of how bad you thinkyour case is, BEFORE you face thejudge, call Thomas C. Nagel at 404-255-1600 to arrange your free consultation today.